My Blog is Like My Garden   6 comments

Dear BJ,

I have been thinking about this blog a lot lately.  That’s it, just thinking no writing.  Today I came to the conclusion that my blog reflects my life quite well.

I find that it’s like the garden I want to grow every year.  In the Spring I get excited and want to plant some seeds and make something grow.   Then the  anticipation as you wait for the seeds to sprout. Finally, the magic of a seedling emerging and starting to grow.

Garden/Allotment

Garden/Allotment (Photo credit: tricky (rick harrison))

That all happened this past spring.  I got a pack of old postcards and the idea for a blog sprouted.  It grew slowly and thrived as long as I paid attention and nurtured it.  Then one day I stopped paying attention to my blog.

There are a hundred excuses,  It got hot, the pool was open, wanted to take the Granddaughters to the park…you get the picture.  My garden withered and in the meantime I succumbed to a known time killer.  It was like spraying the garden with round up.

I started leveling a character in World of Warcraft.  I know, 55 years old and playing video games.  What am I thinking.   Just like the garden and my blog though, my character has grown and is almost at the top level and I am losing interest.

"World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade&q...

“World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade” cover art (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The conclusions are obvious.  I enjoy starting things but my interest wanes when it comes time to nurture them.  This is an issue that I will have  to work pretty soon.  Once I finish reading some more blogs, burning my CD’s to my computer and what ever else pops up before my next post.

Same as always,

Bill

Posted October 13, 2013 by Balvah in Notes, Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

6 responses to “My Blog is Like My Garden

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are in good company. Writers who publish write, write, write. It’s difficult for us the dedicate the time and energy until we feel confident that what we say has meaning. What you say is important. Hope you continue your project. I’ve been enjoying your postcards.

  2. I so relate to this post! Such is my life…thanks for sharing. Love you!

  3. After reading this, it came to mind quite quickly that I know from whence this trait came. I will not name any names, but, as they say in Russian, Я виноват! Ya vinovat!

Leave a Reply

The South I Knew

Love Letters to My Children

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Moments In the Life

Not all those who wander are lost- JRR Tolkien

My travels around the blue marble!

photos and words by Scott Stringham

Barry Stein's Blog

Inspired Photography and Creative Writing by Barry Stein

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Whatever

I'M STARING AT THE ASPHALT WONDERING WHAT'S BURIED UNDERNEATH

Magpie & Whale

Esther's Miscellany

The Not So Innocents Abroad

Historical Ramblings on Sex, Food, and Other Bodily Pleasures, in Paris, Capri, and Beyond

trashbus

The Balkan Stories

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Life 101

Postcards to my Aunt BJ

Pretty Work

Lessons Learned from Bates Creek to the Big City

Lost in Berlin

Speak little, observe much, row often

Todd Pack

TODD PACK | Writer

