Tribute to K Sanford   Leave a comment

Image

Dear BJ.

I started work on a remembrance profile for K last night.  I used a great historical site, Together We Served United States Army  to begin the process.  I became familiar with the site a little over three years ago when I posted my military history.  I am thankful for the scrapbook you kept for years and years.

What a powerful story is bound between the covers.  A varsity letter W from for racing from his time studying at Wyoming Seminary.  Newspaper clippings from his enlistment, embarkation and train travel across France.  Telegrams, letters and citations from the Department of the Army and colleagues.  Poems, songs and reflections on the loss of loved ones.  Most powerful though are the pictures of K and Sgt Brooks and the American cemetery at Bellau, Asine, France taken by W. L. Dix during his visit in 1927.

Image

Image

Image

Perhaps the most emotional memory in the scrapbook was the citation for the Distinguished Service Cross.  The battle of the Marne and Bellau

Wood echo in my in my mind.  I wasn’t aware that K had received this honer for his sacrifice during that epic struggle.  I still remember seeing the green wool uniform hanging in the spare bedroom closet those many years ago.

I wonder now was it just my father’s service that led me to join the Air Force, or was it this very scrapbook, the uniform or a story I heard on the porch of the carriage house at 67 Church.  I do know that I am proud of K’s courage and sacrifice and it is real when the tears come to my eye as I read the clippings and look at the pictures of our brave young relative.

Your Nephew,

Bill

P.S. Here is a link to to the TWS site.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kv4jfPbffUo&feature=player_embedded

Army Distinguished Service Cross

Army Distinguished Service Cross (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

The South I Knew

Love Letters to My Children

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Moments In the Life

Not all those who wander are lost- JRR Tolkien

My travels around the blue marble!

photos and words by Scott Stringham

Barry Stein's Blog

Inspired Photography and Creative Writing by Barry Stein

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Whatever

READING MURDER BOOKS AND TRYING TO STAY HIP

Magpie & Whale

Esther's Miscellany

The Not So Innocents Abroad

Historical Ramblings on Sex, Food, and Other Bodily Pleasures, in Paris, Capri, and Beyond

trashbus

The Balkan Stories

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Life 101

Postcards to my Aunt BJ

Pretty Work

Lessons Learned from Bates Creek to the Big City

Lost in Berlin

Speak little, observe much, row often

Todd Pack

TODD PACK | Writer

