Sunday Tube   Leave a comment

Dear BJ,

      I like to think of myself as a productive kind of guy.  One that gets things done.  For the most part I do.  However for some reason I don’t get much done on Sundays but watch TV shows.  I think back to when we lived in Berlin in the mid 70s and Dad told us we would not need to have a TV in the house.  In the long run that was a great idea.  Dad told us to get a library card and as a result I love to read and read voraciously to this day.

      I still wonder how I let these TV shows get a hold of me so strongly.  Take last Sunday.  I fully intended to get up and knock out a walk on the beach.  I always feel better after a walk.    As usual though I clicked trusty channel 13 at 9 AM and there was CBS’s Sunday Morning.  I really do enjoy this show however.  They start with the news then on to some Art, Books, Profiles, Commentary and Nature.  I think it is the quiet nature scene at the end that brings me back every Sunday.

http://www.cbsnews.com/sunday-morning/

      Invariably in the evening, when I should be visiting with my Granddaughters I  find my self plugged into another CBS production, 60 minutes.  I have watched this show for years and they still get the News right on occasion.  I have to say that it lost a ton of it’s character when Andy Rooney moved along.  Once again, the powerful ending keeps me coming back.

http://www.cbsnews.com/60-minutes/

     So far the day is bracketed by CBS magazines and I will be honest these are the only shows I watch on CBS anymore.  Nothing else has much character and the prime time pablum disgusts me.

      The new key to my Sunday evenings comes via Anthony Bourdain’s Parts Unknown.  Here is another great show on a network that I never watch.  Anthony is a hero to me though.  You know guys want to be like him.  From flipping 4 wheelers in the desert, to a beach side barbecue in Libya, followed by local homemade beer, finally wrapped up in pita with some mystery meat on a stick or stuffed in a casing.  He travels, he castigates and he shines a light on great food around the world.  Yep, I live vicariously through Anthony’s travels and I like it.

http://www.cnn.com/video/shows/anthony-bourdain-parts-unknown#

    Of course I do get some things done on Sunday, but I have to admit it is really nice to be able to look at some art, listen to a scandal and imagine the taste of a scallop ceviche from the waters off of Lima, Peru without leaving the comfort of my living room chair.

Your Nephew,

Bill

 

 

Posted June 4, 2013 by Balvah in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

The South I Knew

Love Letters to My Children

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Moments In the Life

Not all those who wander are lost- JRR Tolkien

My travels around the blue marble!

photos and words by Scott Stringham

Barry Stein's Blog

Inspired Photography and Creative Writing by Barry Stein

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Magpie & Whale

Esther's Miscellany

The Not So Innocents Abroad

Historical Ramblings on Sex, Food, and Other Bodily Pleasures, in Paris, Capri, and Beyond

trashbus

The Balkan Stories

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Life 101

Postcards to my Aunt BJ

Pretty Work

Lessons Learned from Bates Creek to the Big City

Lost in Berlin

Speak little, observe much, row often

Todd Pack

TODD PACK | Writer & Editor

