2x + 55 = Afi   Leave a comment

I thought I’d share all the things I’ve been called so you can get an idea of who I am:
 
I started out as William, named after my father.
 
Image
 
They called me Spinch when I started kinderschule in Alsnborn, Germany.  No one can tell me where that name came from.
 
Image
 
My handle was Billy while I was in kindergarten and elementary school in San Angelo, Tx. School starts a year later in the states,
 
Image
 
 
 
A classmate of mine in Berlin American  High School named Bill called me Bruder Bill because we had the same birthday, I wanted to be called Bill however, just to assert my own identity. It was the mid 70s then so in most cases we called each other man.
 
Image
 
In the late 70s they started calling me Airman until I got my own jet to work on then it changed to Chief.
 
Image
 
When I moved to New Mexico, they tagged me with Disco Bill because I was always on the dance floor,
 
Image
 
At one point the phrase was Blue 3.
 
Image
 
Then when I moved to Keflavik, Iceland they had to call me Master Sergeant.
 
Image
 
When I met my wife she called me Astin min.
 
Image
 
Now at work they call me TAC 3 or County.
 
Image
 
Today I get called Afi Bill by my precious grand children and that’s the one I’m sticking with.
 
Image
 
Now for the answer to the equation.  Well the 2x is for the magnification on my reading glasses.  I move along at 55 years old.  Afi, well that is what my grandchildren call me, Afi Bill, which is Icelandic for Grandad.
Posted May 31, 2013 by Balvah in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

The South I Knew

Love Letters to My Children

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Moments In the Life

Not all those who wander are lost- JRR Tolkien

My travels around the blue marble!

photos and words by Scott Stringham

Barry Stein's Blog

Inspired Photography and Creative Writing by Barry Stein

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Magpie & Whale

Esther's Miscellany

The Not So Innocents Abroad

Historical Ramblings on Sex, Food, and Other Bodily Pleasures, in Paris, Capri, and Beyond

trashbus

The Balkan Stories

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Life 101

Postcards to my Aunt BJ

Pretty Work

Lessons Learned from Bates Creek to the Big City

Lost in Berlin

Speak little, observe much, row often

Todd Pack

TODD PACK | Writer & Editor

