Low tide.   2 comments

Dear BJ,

I had a great stroll on the beach this afternoon. I have to admit that this years small window between Memorial day and the end of May is just perfect. The weather has been just fabulous and the ocean is just warming up. I hit the sand right at low tide today and while there were a few visitors the way South was mostly clear. When I cleared the dune the ocean was a clear green right off of the long step of flat beach. Then about 25 yards out the color transformed into a deep green that was clearly pronounced.

What I enjoy most about a five o’clock stroll this time of the year is that the Ospreys are out feeding. I wasn’t out for more than three minutes when a large male folded his wings and gracefully filled his talons with a fish on the first strike I observed. With a couple of powerful flaps of his long wings he was back airborne and headed over the Days Inn in Surfside. The unknown fish in his grip looked like a silver drop tank on a fighter jet.

Further South the terns wheeled in the sky like sea swallows. They were chasing the fry in the tidal pools along with the young anglers with nets who’s feet where stuck on the sand. In my wife Sif’s country Iceland, they call the Terns “Kria” which is what the really sound like. I think the name Kria is much more descriptive and justified. The only birds that I usually like to watch the didn’t show today were the plovers. I am always facsinated by the way they skirt the edge of the surf line with a stiff legged gate that I can’t keep up with.

Tomorrow will be a work day, so if I am going to get a walk in it will probably have to be at dawn.

Your Nephew,

 

Bill

lSSBeach

Posted May 29, 2013 by Balvah in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 responses to “Low tide.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like a great interlude in your day.
    I have a view of a river from my office window, but no beaches around here.

Leave a Reply

The South I Knew

Love Letters to My Children

The Meat & Potatoes of Life

By Lisa Smith Molinari

Moments In the Life

Not all those who wander are lost- JRR Tolkien

My travels around the blue marble!

photos and words by Scott Stringham

Barry Stein's Blog

Inspired Photography and Creative Writing by Barry Stein

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Magpie & Whale

Esther's Miscellany

The Not So Innocents Abroad

Historical Ramblings on Sex, Food, and Other Bodily Pleasures, in Paris, Capri, and Beyond

trashbus

The Balkan Stories

The Cutter Rambles

The Cutter shares his thoughts on the world

Life 101

Postcards to my Aunt BJ

Pretty Work

Lessons Learned from Bates Creek to the Big City

Lost in Berlin

Speak little, observe much, row often

Todd Pack

TODD PACK | Writer & Editor

